Beka To Basics

Real Food Cooking

Fall is here

And you know what that means… SOUP’S ON!!!

I’m sure you know by now, I’ve been eating soup all summer.  I love it too much to give it up for any amount of time, BUT the cooler weather means I can start feeding it to everyone.  I had to share my excitement about soup, even though the recipe I’m sharing tonight is not, in fact, soup.

A few months ago, I purchased a cook book all with only slow cooker recipes, Crock On.  I’ve been really happy with the recipes I’ve tried so far.  It definitely has my recommendation.

I made the Pineapple Pork Loin.  I liked this one because it doesn’t require anything to be cooked or seared before putting it in the slow cooker.  A lot of recipes do, and it really does add to the flavor of a lot of dishes, but sometimes, you just want to put everything together and let it do it’s thing.

Like this one – Just take a pork tenderloin, pineapples, salt, pepper, garlic and thyme and add it all together and let it cook.  This is the second time I made it and this time, I added onions ’cause I like ’em!  When it’s cooked, shred the meat and eat.
IMG_0217The greatest things about this is how much it makes and how many different things it goes with.  I cook (but not really, because the slow cooker does all the work) once and have meat for lunch sandwiches, a pork and veggie dinner AND these egg rolls filled with pineapple pork and Havarti cheese.  SOOOO GOOD!  If you’re wondering if I made the egg roll wrappers, I did not.  I haven’t graduated to that level of awesome (yet).  But maybe someday.

The egg rolls with a cabbage (from my back yard garden yay!!!), carrot and onion slaw and creamy vinaigrette made for a nice dinner.

Creamy Vinaigrette

  • 1/4 cup buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup yogurt
  • 1/4 cup rice vinegar
  • 2 tbsp raw honey
  • 1 tsp Dijon mustard
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 1 crushed small garlic clove
  • 1/8 teaspoon ginger

Mix it all together and use as a salad dressing.

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

