Beka To Basics

Real Food Cooking

Pies, Cobblers and Crisps Pt 1

It’s hard not to think about dessert as we get closer to Thanksgiving.  Yes, I said it, we are getting close to Thanksgiving.

I’m not actually a big pie fan, but I do have a really good pie crust recipe.  I was inspired to write about it when a friend of mine told me about going apple picking this weekend.  This crust recipe is partly my grandma’s and partly my own.  She uses Crisco and I really don’t like Crisco.  I like butter.  So, butter it is.

Pie Crust

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup butter (or lard, or a mix of both) softened slightly
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp ice cold water – you can leave the egg out completely and just use 5 tbsps of ice cold water

You can do this by hand or with a food processor.  I think the food processor is easier.  You can keep everything cold more easily since your hands aren’t in the mix, but by hand works too – just touch the dough as little as possible.  Put the flour and butter and pulse until it looks grainy.  Add the egg and water and pulse until the dough sticks to itself and forms a ball.  Keep in mind that sometimes you might need a little more flour, sometimes a little less.  1 1/2 is a good place to start and a lot of the time it will be just right with that.  When the dough forms a ball, you’re done, time to stop.  I usually put the dough in the fridge for a little while to make sure its good and cold before I cook with it.  Roll half of it out for the bottom of the pie, put it in the pie pan and put your filling in, then roll the rest out for the top.

Or if you’re like me and don’t feel like rolling everything out twice, just roll out the whole thing and fold the extra over.  I could call it lazy, but we’ll go with rustic.. yes, it sounds much nicer that way.  Rustic.

As for the filling – you can take your pick!  Pumpkin, Apple, Strawberry, Cherry, Raisin Pecan…

Cook the pie at 350 until its done.  Sorry, I don’t have a time since I don’t know what you’re putting in it. 🙂

You’ll be able to tell though because the filling will be bubbly and the crust will be golden brown.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

