Beka To Basics

Real Food Cooking

Cooking with a Pumpkin

And I mean a real pumpkin. Not from a can, but from the ground grown on a vine and picked then put into my oven, pumpkin.

Yep.  It was my first time.

I’ve cooked with squash before and pumpkins are basically big squashes, yes?

What I’ve learned is that cooking pumpkins and carving pumpkins are different.  I kind of knew that already, but hadn’t really tested the theory.  I’ll tell you what, it’s been tested now and I would never want to cook a carving pumpkin.  They don’t have enough ‘meat’ to them, it’s all string and seeds.  Cooking pumpkins have a lot more of the squashy part to them than the carving ones.  Which is good, because that’s the yummy part.

It’s actually quite easy.  You cut the top off the pumpkin and then cut it in half and put it in a baking dish, cut side down and roast it for about 40 minutes until you can put a fork through it easily.  Take it out, let it cool and scoop all the squashy parts out and either mash with a potato masher or a food processor.  I had a small pumpkin, but I ended up with 2 pints of punkin goo and a bunch of seeds to roast. 🙂

So, what to do with all that Pumpkin?  Well, I decided to try this Coconut-Pumpkin Soup. I made very few changes, like I sauteed the veggies in butter because let’s face it, everything is better in butter.  I also thought I had gotten coconut milk at the store, but I had actually picked up coconut cream.  Since it’s slightly sweet, I left out the brown sugar and just added about a tbsp of molasses to make up for the missing flavor.

This soup is so good. I cannot even tell you in words how much I enjoyed it, so I fully expect everyone to make it as soon as possible so you can experience it yourself.  I’m including a picture, but I have to admit, it doesn’t do it justice at all!  Believe me, it looks and tastes so good!

Featured in What’s in the Box?

I plan to use the rest of the pumpkin puree for pumpkin pancakes this weekend. 🙂

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Cooking with a Pumpkin

  1. I love pumpkin soup! I haven’t tried it with coconut milk but that’s a terrific idea.

  2. yummy! Thanks for sharing and linking up 🙂

  3. Isn’t it fun to do it yourself, not open a can? I didn’t intend to have pumpkins in my garden this year, but my compost thought otherwise, so I ended up with a couple of volunteer vines and more pie pumpkins than I knew what to do with. I made muffins with some of mine, and have the rest in the freezer for later.

  4. Pingback: What’s in the Box? #47 « In Her Chucks

Leave a Reply

