Beka To Basics

Real Food Cooking

Batch Cooking for Refrigerator Food

I know when people talk about batch cooking, they are usually talking about putting it in the freezer to have a fully cooked meal ready.  Well, I’m not quite ready for that step.  I do A LOT of cooking from my freezer, but I freeze the pieces of a meal and the cook it.  Like, potatoes, chicken, stock and random veggies.  It’s great because everything is already prepped and ready to use, but it’s no where near the amazing batch cooking of freezer food you can find people talking about.  Part of the reason is that I love cooking.  It’s part of my unwind from the day ritual almost every night.  Get off work, drive home, cook dinner, eat.

There are some nights that I wish I had something that I could pull out of the freezer though.  Or a large meal I make doesn’t end up being so large and runs out before I’ve made something else, leaving me with the never ending now what do I eat question.  Freezer cooking would answer that question easily.  Even though I don’t think I will cook all of my meals for the freezer, I do want to have some options.  So, here’s my first step towards freezer cooking.

I cooked Sunday morning, Monday evening and a little bit on Tuesday.  Sunday I made refrigerator dough, a few buns, boiled and dekernelled (is that a word?) corn for chowder, tomato sauce and Bombay Sloppy Joes.  Monday I made corn chowder and tacos.  Tuesday all I had to do was make guacamole and heat up shells and tacos were ready to eat.  So far, I’ve had dinner and lunches all ready for the week.  It just takes a few minutes to heat everything up and you have dinner. 🙂  And dinner that’s way better than running out to the nearest fast food restaurant.  Plus it’s left me time for my newest project.  Anyone need a baby blanket? It’s handmade! 🙂

Since everyone has their own personal perfect guacamole recipe, I’ll spare you mine.  Just know that its amazing and I’ll share if you really want. 😉  Tacos we’ve talked about before and the sloppy joe recipe isn’t mine.  I will say that it is so awesome and you should make it as soon as possible because you won’t regret it. Promise.  It’s even better with homemade buns fresh out of the oven.

Corn Chowder

  • 6 ears of corn (why are they ears?!) boiled and kernels cut off
  • 1 onion chopped
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 tbsp flour
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup stock
  • rosemary and basil – I’ve also seen recipes with tarragon that look really tasty!
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/2 cup shredded white cheese
  • 1 clove garlic

Melt the butter and add onions.  Saute until they are soft, then add the garlic and saute for a minute or so.  Add the flour to make a roux.  Add the stock and milk and bring to an almost simmer.  Let it thicken just a bit and then melt the cheese into the mixture.  Add the seasonings and corn kernels.

Because this is a milk based soup, I try to make sure it gets eaten within three days because I’m not sure that it would hold up longer than that.  I had it for lunch for three days and breakfast one day.

Is soup ok for breakfast?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

