Beka To Basics

Real Food Cooking

Stretching Food and my Three Year Blanket

So, I found this sage pork sausage that I love.  The problem?  It’s expensive.  The other problem?  It’s so delicious.

Hmmm, how to solve the problems?

Like my tennis coach used to say, “Let’s stretch it out.” (I knew his advice would come in handy at some point in my life)

With 1 lb of sage pork sausage, I made 10 meals.  Squash and Pork Hash and Sage Pork Soup

Hash

I cooked the pork in my stock pot, removed it, added chopped squash, zucchini, onions, green peppers, garlic and tomatoes and sauteed them all.  I added about half of the pork back in and had dinner for two for two nights, plus lunch for one more.

After I stowed the leftover Hash in it’s refrigerator container, I added some olive oil to my pot, sauteed more onions and garlic.  Then I added stock, potatoes and green beans and simmered until they were all done.  I added the other half of the pork in and called it a night.  Five meals from the soup, plus five from the hash all from 1 lb of meat isn’t too shabby. 🙂

While we’re talking about stretching things out, I’ll admit why I’ve been slacking a little bit on my cooking.  I started crocheting myself a blanket.  Well, I started it three years ago and have been lugging the pieces and unfinished portion around with me.  I fondly call it my Three Year Blanket.  It was time to finish it.  I had stretched its creation as FAR as is would go.  No more stretching on that one!

The Three Year Blanket

Normally, it doesn’t take me three years to finish one.  Normally, there is a goal, like someone’s birthday, a baby being born (I know, same thing), or Christmas.  When I have a reason to finish, I do, but when it’s just for me, well… You know, it turns into a three year project.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

