Beka To Basics

Real Food Cooking

COOKIES!!!!!

There are some days that a chocolate chip cookie is totally necessary.  Admittedly, I am not a cookie master.  In fact, I mess up tested cookie recipes over and over again.  EVEN when I make them WITH someone who is a cookie master, I manage to find a way to do something wrong.  I mean, they still TASTE good, they’re just not so chocolate chip cookie looking. Almost every direction tells you to put teaspoons of the dough on the cookie sheet and let the cookies spread out by themselves in the oven.  (Mine never spread out right, they just stay in dough-y little piles all crispity on the outside and uncooked on the inside – My friends called them cookie flavored dough balls to make me feel better about them. Like I said, good, just not so cookie like.)

I have figured out the secret. It’s in the fat.  The tried and tested recipe that I’ve been using is half butter and half veggie oil.  Well. I’m not so big on using veggie oil, so I knew that I would need a new recipe if I wanted cookie flavored dough balls again. And really, I thought I was going to be making dough balls again because if I CAN’T get cookies that are half oil to spread out, then I give up! Here’s what I used for my batch tonight. And yes, I followed it to a T, lard and all.

I DID DID IT!

They were a perfect dessert for my garlic scape pesto marinated pork chops and sweet corn. Which got eaten. Before my camera came out. Oh well, C’est La Vie!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “COOKIES!!!!!

  1. Nom nom nom. They taste just as good as they look. I crushed a whole batch last night fresh out of the oven 🙂

  2. Looks like they came out perfect!

Leave a Reply

