Beka To Basics

Real Food Cooking

Crabcakes! (?Hash?)

I can make fish cakes. I can make black bean patties. I can even make eggplant cakes. But for some reason, whenever I try to make crab cakes, it turns in crab hash that tastes like crab cakes. Oh well, at least it still tastes good, right?

I’m not sure what the problem is.  I have a slightly different recipe for these than my other cakes – it includes an egg, mayonnaise and mustard, but I make it the same consistency as the others, so theoretically, it should work as a crab cake.  I would just bake them, but having that oh, so delicious, crispy crust is so important to me, and I feel like I wouldn’t be able to get it in the oven.  I can’t figure out the problem – too many breadcrumbs? too few? more liquidy stuff needed? less?  Anyone else have this problem?

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Crabcakes! (?Hash?)

  1. Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    petitchef.com

Leave a Reply

