Beka To Basics

Real Food Cooking

We’re getting fancy

I don’t know why, but anytime I hear the word braised, I think fancy.  I know its not, or at least doesn’t have to be, but it makes me think fancy.  Maybe it’s because we didn’t really have anything braised while I was growing up or because I feel like it’s just a giant pain to braise something.  In reality, braising is just about as easy as making a soup and putting it in the oven.  Seriously, it’s that easy.  The catch for me is – I have cooking pots for the stove and I have cooking pans that go into the oven. So, to me, braising is a pain.  Sear meat, remove from pan, saute veggies, add liquid, remove everything to another pot that DOES go in the oven, cook for a few hours, take it out and pour the liquid into another pot that goes on the stove, reduce, serve over braised meat, wash the 5 million dishes you made dirty while preparing braised meat.

I forgot that I have cast iron, which can be used in the oven and the stove top.  I used to use cast iron for very specific things (bacon, corn bread), but I didn’t really use it for every day cooking.  The more and more I cook, the more I tend to use it for everything. Recently, I pulled out the back up cast iron for every day use, so now I have two 🙂

Back to the fancy meal for tonight.  I bought some short ribs that I am finally going to braise.  Here we go…

  • Short Ribs
  • 1 Carrot
  • 2 Celery Ribs
  • 1/2 Onion
  • Garlic
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 1/2 cup red wine
  • 1 or 2 cups of water or stock

Preheat the oven to 350. Season and sear the short ribs in a little bit of olive oil and remove them from the pan.  Add the veggies, season and saute for a few minutes, then add some wine and water or stock.  Bring the liquid up to a simmer and add the ribs back in, cover and put it in the oven for a few hours until the meat is cooked through an tender.  AND, if you don’t have a lid for your cast iron… No worries!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “We’re getting fancy

  1. Consider every one of the storage offered and adapt them to your space.

Leave a Reply

