Beka To Basics

Real Food Cooking

How to make a fish cake

I haven’t bought fish in months. I know, fish is really good for you and its really tasty.  I’m not afraid of cooking fish, I know sometimes that’s what keeps people from buying fish.  Fish is actually really easy, and fast.  I haven’t bought it recently because I’ve been so enthralled with cooking other meats that I haven’t cooked with before.  Like Pork Belly, Denver Ribs, Boston Butt, Beef Suet, and Pork Back Fat. Who wouldn’t be distracted by all the new and different cuts of meat that I never even knew about. So, I saw this cod for sale and it made me realize just how long it’s been since I cooked fish.  So, I got it. And I cooked it. With the tomatillo sauce like my friend told me to try. And you know what?

I overcooked it. It was kind of gross.

I know how to cook fish. I know that you take it out at least a minute before you think it’s done and let it sit and then test it to make sure its flaky and cooked through.  Not this time.  I did a visual check and decided it needed 5 more minutes (5 more minutes for fish is like 30 more minutes for anything else, seriously don’t know what I was thinking).  It was dry, rubbery, and not tasty.

Fail.

And a fail that involved having an extra overcooked, rubbery and not tasty fillet left over.  I was not excited about suffering through another gross dinner.

What to do?  Yep. Fish Cake.  My gift to everyone else 😉 When you make fish that you don’t want to finish, turn it into this and people will actually request that you make it again.

Fish Cakes

  • Fillet or two of cooked fish, flaked. You could also use chopped shrimp or crab
  • Egg (or 2, depending on how much fish you have)
  • Breadcrumbs, or crushed croutons which I used cause that was all I had
  • clove of garlic
  • parsley
  • mashed potatoes
  • salt and pepper

I have 1 fillet, so I shredded it and added 1 whisked egg along with about a tsp of parsley, some salt and pepper, about half a cup of crushed croutons and about a half cup of mashed potatoes.  You want to have a sticky mixture, but you also want it to hold together.  Preheat a pan and some fat (oil, butter, or lard work well), just enough to cover the bottom of the pan.  Put the patties in the pan and let cook for about 5 minutes, and then flip.  5 more minutes and the on to the dinner plate.

Serve with a salad or steamed broccoli with cheese (or both!) and call it a night!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “How to make a fish cake

  1. David on said:

    I could eat these every day.

Leave a Reply

