Beka To Basics

Real Food Cooking

Food Art

This is my kitchen bar counter.  A lot of the vegetables I get need to be stored at room temperature, or slightly below.  The fridge is too cold, so they spoil quickly if I put them in there.  The squash should probably be somewhere like a root cellar, but the counter will have to do.  They seem to keep just fine as long as I use them in a few days.

I’ve started to call the bar area of my kitchen, my still life counter.  On Fridays, after I pick up new veggies and arrange them on my counter, I feel like I should get an easel and paintbrush out and get to work. 😉

It’ really satisfying to use them up one by one and see my still life painting be depleted of all its subjects, and then refilled the next week with different ones. This week I plan to make, Lamb over potatoes with a basil balsamic sauce, Squash stuffed with sage pork ragu (is it still a ragu without the pasta?), Pork BBQ hash and Potato Leek Soup (yes, I know it’s July).  I’ll try to post recipes, the problem is remembering to write down what I do as I’m doing it.

Now, where are my oil paints?

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Food Art

  1. Hope you’ll share the squash recipe.

  2. Hayley Ferris on said:

    I can’t wait to hear about this Potato Leek Soup! 😀

Leave a Reply

