Beka To Basics

Real Food Cooking

Eggplant

And Squash, Broccoli, Cauliflower, Tomatillos, Onion, Garlic Scapes

This is what came in my CSA box last week.  While we’re on that note, I am wondering if other people actually get boxes with food in it when they join a CSA?  I need to take pictures of mine because there aren’t any boxes.

He gave everyone a tote bag and when we arrive on the day we said we would pick up veggies, he’s there, in his van full o good stuff.  He pulls crates of various veggies out of said van and puts them in a row on the ground.  Then he looks at what he has and takes out his chalk board and writes the name and number of veggies you get depending on how many shares you signed up for.  He offers 1, 2 and 4 person shares. We fill our tote bags with however many veggies our share gets that week.  I have to admit, it was what I was expecting at all.  I kept hearing about boxes and shares and I imagined meeting him each week and getting a box all neatly packed and putting it in my car and taking home to open it like it’s a Christmas present.

Ok, so we’ve taken care of that – The veggies have been amazing. I forgot how DIRTY veggies straight from the ground are.  Believe me, I slapped myself in the head when I realized I was thinking that, so no one else has to. Of course they’re dirty, they were living there until a few hours ago.  I had to pick caterpillars out of my cauliflower. I’m probably not making this CSA thing sound very good, but I have to tell you I’ve been loving it.  I’m going to guess that if you knew me, you might not pick me out as someone who enjoys getting dirty and picking caterpillars off veggies.  Well, Surprise!

Back to veggies.  I made a really good onion and squash saute to be a side for the BLTs we had for dinner.  We also had some pretty tasty tomatillo salsa that I put on eggs and hot dogs (separate times, of course).  I heard it would be good on fish.  I’ll have to try that next time. I also made these broccoli cheese bites that were really really amazing.

There were many successes – and one massive failure. Eggplant. What do you do with eggplant that makes it good? It was soo bad, I tried to eat it fried, sauteed, with other veggies, alone, in eggs (gross). I am probably going to get at least one eggplant per week for the next few months, so someone, please help me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Come check me any many others out at What’s in the Box? Link Party 🙂

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Eggplant

  1. Even though I like it, it’s the hardest item for me to use up. Here is one recipe that went down fairly well: http://agrigirl.wordpress.com/2010/09/26/eggplant-and-five-freedoms-of-the-first-amendmen/

    • This is too funny! I love the Freedoms (and I admit feeling like they did, but I didn’t have anyone to protest to)! I do love teryaki though, so this might work for me. Thanks!

  2. I have only received eggplant once in my box but this was a huge hit at my house…http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/garden-eggplant-pizza-10000001057286/.

    I host a weekly CSA link party and would love for you to be a part of it. Come and check it out and add your link…http://inherchucks.com/2012/07/05/whats-in-the-box-33/. There are some eggplant recipes and there might be more ideas for people to share with you. Hope to see you there!

  3. The way your CSA works sounds really interesting, Beka! It would only be sustainable at a small scale, I think, but I imagine the savings in labor costs of having you guys pack up your own veggies is substantial. And yes, the “Christmas box” feeling is also really fun. 🙂

    I used to hate eggplant, too! It’s still really difficult to get it to a texture I don’t hate. I recently wanted eggplant on my pizza, didn’t feel like shlepping out the foreman grill, waiting a million years, and then cleaning the grill, so I broiled it. EW. Not nice. And don’t even get me started on baked, sautéed, or stewed. UGH.

    That being said there are all kinds of eggplant things I love that take care of the undercooked horrible texture issue. My favorite is baba ganoush: http://inmybox.wordpress.com/2011/08/02/bestest-baba-ganoush/. Another great one is caponata, and if you get the little long Asian kind Nasu Dengaku is a nice preparation. Both have pics & links in this post: http://inmybox.wordpress.com/2008/12/29/bounty-from-the-middle-of-the-table-part-1/ Finally, if you like Indian food, Bengan Bharta is wonderful. Here’s my favorite recipe: http://www.grouprecipes.com/19879/smoky-indian-eggplant-baingan-bartha.html but somehow my “Alterations” section got lost when grouprecipes changed their format. If you’re using Italian eggplant, just prepare it the same was as for the baba ganoush (char on a gas flame, then roast in the oven til absolutely squishy & collapsed). Hope these help!

    • Thanks for the tips on cooking eggplant! I bet my biggest problem with it was that I undercooked it. I now have a collection of eggplant recipes to try – funny, since I didn’t really like it the first time, but you can’t help what comes in the box! This week I’m going to try eggplant meatballs, I’ll be posting a review of the recipe once I try them. Thanks for giving me a few ideas, these look really good, especially the baba ganoush.
      One of the reasons I picked the CSA that I did was because of his attitude towards food. You can tell that he really wants you to get a feel for the plants and how to pick them and that he really enjoys talking to everyone when we come pick up our shares. I can’t imagine him doing the same thing if he had more share holders. I feel like he would loose the connection with people if he did.

  4. Pingback: Vegan Eggplant « Beka To Basics

Leave a Reply

