Beka To Basics

Real Food Cooking

Take me Camping

And this is what you get…

My friends came to visit this past weekend and we decided to go tubing camping.  Of course, I said I would bring the food.  You can’t go camping without good food, but you don’t want to cook over a hot fire if its already over 100 outside.  Since we were only going for one night, I cooked all of the food before leaving my house.  Totally worth it.

The Strudel idea was borrowed from a friend who brought over almost the exact same dish as the one I made, he just didn’t braid the top or make the crust.  Its so very easy, and so very delicious.  You either buy or make a pie crust and fill it with whatever you’d like.  This time I filled it with roast beef, sauteed onions, peppers and garlic and this farmer’s cheese I got from the farmer’s market.  I think it’s hard to go wrong with fillings in this dish – if it’s good on a sandwich, it’ll be good in a strudel.

The Strawberry Shortcake was beyond amazing after a hot day.  I used this recipe for the whipped cream and strawberries and my own biscuit recipe.  These were the best, best, BEST biscuits I have ever made in my life and I plan on making them over and over and over again.  I usually like to add whole wheat, at least a little, to just about everything I make.  BUT every now and then, an entirely white flour biscuit is a good treat and totally worth it for the perfection of this strawberry shortcake.

The best part about the weekend?  SANGRIA SATURDAY!

I don’t have a picture, because we drank it all very quickly, but it was so pretty! And so easy!

  • Bottle of red wine
  • a cup or so of rum
  • juice (I used pineapple because I had it)
  • Fruit (I used cherries, peaches, an orange, and a lemon)
  • 2 cans/12 oz bottles of Ginger Ale

Mix it all, except for the soda, together in a big jar and refrigerate for a few hours.  Pour a little ginger ale in a glass and top with the rest of the mixture, or mix the ginger ale right in with the rest of it if there’s room.

I think camping is my favorite, even with the million bug bites I’m dealing with now.

 

This Post is featured on Fat Tuesday, come check it out!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

