Beka To Basics

Real Food Cooking

Garlic Scape and Sorrel Soup

I love Garlic Scapes. I love Sorrel. Naturally, I must combine the two. And obviously, I have to combine them in my favorite mode – soup.  I don’t care that it’s the hottest day we’ve had this year.  I want soup. It’s still soup if it’s served cool, right? Or does it have a different name?

Garlic Scapes

Garlic Scapes

Garlic Scape and Sorrel Soup

  • 1 cup(ish) chopped Garlic Scapes
  • 1 cup(ish) chopped Sorrel
  • 1 chopped garlic clove (or more if you really love garlic)
  • 2 chopped medium potatoes
  • 1 quart chicken broth (make your own 🙂 it’ll taste better)
  • butter
  • salt, pepper, any other herb that strikes your fancy
  • Milk – enough to thin out the soup or to taste

Saute the garlic scapes for a few minutes, then add the garlic clove and saute a few more minutes. Add the chicken broth and bring to a boil and add the potatoes.  Cook them until tender.  Add the sorrel and let it wilt for a bit and then blend everything until smooth. Add milk. Taste and add seasoning as needed.

Extra delicious with a slice of fresh bread with butter.

Scape and Sorrel Soup

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Garlic Scape and Sorrel Soup

  1. yum…looks delish! I have yet to get either of these veggies in my CSA box but when I do this will be the perfect dish 🙂

    I host a weekly CSA link party and would love for you to be a part of it. Come and check it out and add your link. http://inherchucks.com/2012/06/20/whats-in-the-box-31/. Hope to see you there!

  2. It looks delicious. I don’t think we grow sorrel in my part of the world but I bet spinach would work equally well.

  3. Oh! That’s so sad to me… I bet it could be grow there, I’m pretty sure it grows anywhere other greens will grow. It grows wild in a lot of places, and a lot of people consider it a weed. My CSA farmer loves it, otherwise I’d still think it was a weed too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

