Beka To Basics

Real Food Cooking

pac choi (I finally like it!)

So I finally figured out what to do with pac choi. By the way – I do realize that I have spelled it differently almost every time I talk about it. But however it is spelled, I haven’t figured out how to use it in a way that I really enjoy it.  I’ve tried a few things, like stir frying it whole. It wasn’t the greatest.  Imagine a romaine(ish) flavored celery stalk warmed up with a droopy spinach like leaf attached to the top with an oil garlic ginger dressing.  As you can image, the dressing was my favorite part.  I know, I know, I probably did something wrong and all of you who know how to cook pac choi or bok choi or pak choy can (please) teach me at some point.

The next time, I just added some chopped up to a salad…. Not a winner.

The third time, I just hid it in something else.

This time though, I actually went back for seconds.  Yes, seconds.  Not for the meat. Not for the rice. But for the pac choi.

This is what I did

You’ll need

  • Onion – I used a red one
  • Pac Choi
  • Olive Oil or Butter
  • Salt, Pepper
  • Teriyaki sauce

Dice the onion and saute in the oil or butter for a few minutes.  Season with Salt and Pepper.  Chop up the pac choi.  It’ll look like celery pieces and chopped spinach.  Add it to the onion and saute for a few more minutes and then add about a tbsp of Teriyaki sauce.

It’s just about perfect.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “pac choi (I finally like it!)

  1. David Holland on said:

    I think I’m still full from that meal haha

Leave a Reply

