Beka To Basics

Real Food Cooking

More Greens

I’m going to guess here and say that Greens are one of the easiest vegetables to grow.  I am guessing that because I have been getting greens every week for the past few weeks.  I have been assured that there will be plenty of other types of vegetables coming, along with… more Greens.  Which leaves me in my kitchen organizing more greens than one person needs in a week, even though I signed up for a one person share.  Oh, and 6 eggs 🙂

CSA Greens

What that doesn’t include is the romaine that is already in my fridge or the peas I got at the market last weekend or the garlic scapes.  They deserve their own post.

All of the greens need to be eaten, or saved in some way to be eaten later and that means I have to figure out how to use them all.  Ok, easy.  Salad greens get washed a cut up with the romaine for salads (with every meal – I now understand why salad greens are only in season for a few months… you eat them, and lots of them and lots more of them until 1) you cannot handle another salad 2) it’s too cold to grow them anymore at which time you move on to the greens that DO grow in cold (ish) soil.)

After the salad greens are taken care of, that leaves sorrel, mustard greens and pak choi (bok choy depending on who you talk to).  I have grown to love sorrel in the past few months and have special plans for another pseudo soup later this week.  Solution?  Put Greens in EVERYTHING:

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “More Greens

  1. Pingback: pac choi (I finally like it!) « Beka To Basics

Leave a Reply

