Beka To Basics

Real Food Cooking

Potatoes

I like to use everything. I don’t like to throw food away.  In fact, I hate throwing food away.  Yes, I am one of those people who saves the little bits of food in the tiniest tupperware you will ever see.  I HATE throwing food away.

I also like to save money. And to save money when buying food, it helps to buy in bulk. Like potatoes. Let me tell you about potatoes.  I ALWAYS buy the big bag thinking I will make enough potatoes fast enough to use them all before they go bad. I am ALWAYS wrong.

Not this time potatoes, not this time…

Once again, I am spending Friday night in my kitchen.  (Worth it? I think so)

To save potatoes:

Marathon cutting of potatoes in the food processor (shreds and slices)

Cook 1/3 in tallow – put on baking sheet and freeze 4 hrs, then put in an airtight bag

Soak, Drain, and squeeze all the water out of the shredded potatoes – put on a baking sheet, freeze, transfer to an airtight bag

Bake the remaining whole potatoes to eat and make mashed potatoes for later this week.

Are those baked potatoes?  Where’s the tin foil? You ask.

(I don’t bake my potatoes in tin foil. Why? Well, that would require throwing the tin foil away… which is kind of like throwing money away)

I just use a roasting pan, which acts just like tin foil. You stick the potatoes with a fork, cover them in olive oil, salt and pepper and bake in the roasting pan just like you would if you were using tin foil, except you’re not, so you won’t have to throw anything away 🙂

AND if you don’t like the skins on your potatoes – they’ll just peel off after you bake them this way!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

