Beka To Basics

Real Food Cooking

Milk!

You can read all about the debate over milk. Raw vs pasteurized, homogenized vs non, whole vs skim. I don’t know which one is the best, but I do know that I don’t like the idea of homogenization – breaking down fat particles and forcing them back into the milk so they stay suspended instead of rising to the top. It sounds weird, it’s also really inconvenient when trying to make other things out of milk.  I spent a lot of this past weekend looking at where to find non homogenized milk because I made butter and it took way longer than it should have. I gave up on finding it.  The only way I could find was to literally rent a cow and get raw milk from it, I’m not doing that (yet).

I was wrong! I found it! I have literally been dancing all evening because I am so excited!! With non homogenized milk you can make yogurt, you can drink it, or you can let it separate and make butter and buttermilk and you’ll still have milk to drink!!

It was expensive – 3.99 for a half gallon, but that will make 64 ounces of yogurt (store bought is almost twice as expensive). And if I can get butter, buttermilk and drinking milk for 3.99, I kinda think that’s a deal, depending on just how much butter I get out of the cream. Too bad I just made butter and don’t need anymore for a while – maybe I’ll think up some way to use it 🙂

Oh! And it comes in a glass bottle. That you return to the store. That the wash and refill and reuse. How can it be any better than that?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

