Beka To Basics

Real Food Cooking

Barbeque Sauce

So, I know I already talked about BBQ and Brie pizza, but it was really good, so I had to make it again.  This time, my barbeque sauce was amazing!  To top it off, I made sourdough pizza crust that was so good and only slightly sour.  Next, I need to work on the New York style crust I love so much.

IMG_0828I’ve been attempting to recreate lots of sauces instead of buying them at the store.  I like knowing what I’m eating and a lot of sauces have ingredients that I don’t know how to pronounce or why they’re there.  Plus, it’s actually a lot cheaper to make my own.  I’ve gotten catsup/ketchup down, so I decided to use that for the base.  I also spent some time looking at other people’s recipes and the list of seasonings from various companies’ barbeque sauces.  I pulled out everything I thought I would need and got started.  The recipe is for a small amount, about 1/2 cup, but I didn’t want to risk wasting too much if it didn’t work out.

Barbeque Sauce

  • 1/2 cup catsup
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce (make your own with this recipe from Food Renegade)
  • 1 tbsp cider vinegar
  • hot sauce
  • 1-2 tbsp honey to taste
  • 1-2 tbsp blackstrap molassas
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 – 1/2 tsp mustard powder
  • 1/2 tsp paprika

Mix it all together and simmer over low heat until it has thickened slightly.  This sauce is sticky, tangy and sweet and can easily be changed to make is spicier.  Maybe use more honey to have a sweeter sauce or add some yellow mustard for a tangy sauce.  Add some garlic powder, or if you are going to eat it quickly, use fresh garlic and chopped onions.  I’m pretty sure it would all be good.  I can’t wait to try this sauce on a barbeque sandwich or for dipping chicken nuggets!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Barbeque Sauce

  1. Hmmm, it sounds like a really odd combination. Glad it worked out for you!

  2. Hi, I’m Ana from Fooduel.com. It is a site in which users vote recipes from 1 to 10.

    There is a ranking of the best recipes and a profile with your voted recipes. Each recipe has a link to the blog which belongs the recipe. This way you will get traffic to your blog.

    It’s easy, fast and fun. The best Photo recipes will be here.

    You are invited to enter, add your blog and upload a recipe with a nice photo.

    You are able to see your stats:

    -Number of visits to your blog from Fooduel.com.
    -Number of votes received every day
    -Number of votes received by each category
    -Number of votes for each grade (1-10)
    -Number of votes for each recipe.

    You can watch how its works here http://www.fooduel.com/about.php

    We would love that you participate with some recipe. Looks Amazing!

    Best regards

    http://www.Fooduel.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 226 other followers

