Beka To Basics

Real Food Cooking

Adobo

So, I love mole, but I don’t know how to make it.  I know that it is similar/related to adobo sauce, but, if my understanding is correct, it’s more time consuming and has more ingredients.  I have found some recipes online that look promising – I’m just not ready for the complications yet :)  I don’t really make a lot of complicated sauces.

This one turned out to be a whole lot easier than I thought it would.  It’s an Emril recipe for Adobo Pork Tenderloin.

I used chicken, instead of pork and didn’t marinate it since I planned on putting it in the slow cooker.  I made the sauce while cooking dinner last night and put the sauce, some chicken stock and tomato sauce in the slow cooker with the chicken.  Tell me why I always forget to turn on the slow cooker BEFORE leaving for work.  It’s just a good thing someone work close enough to home to come turn it on for me when I have a spacey moment in the morning. ;)

It looks like a lot of steps for a sauce, but really it boils down to this:

1) Heat the dried peppers to make them pliable.

2) Cut them and pour out the seeds.

3) Simmer them for a few minutes.

4) While the peppers are simmering, put all the other ingredients in a food processor and pulse until everything is a paste.

5) Add the peppers to the food processor and pulse.  Add some of the simmering liquid to get the consistency you need.
This made about a pint of Adobo Sauce.

In between these steps, I made spinach sausage casserole. Also easy.

Usually, casseroles require cream of something soup.  I can make my own, but sometimes, I just don’t feel like it.  I should really make a bunch and freeze them so they’re ready to go.  Anyways, I’ve come up with a replacement for casseroles for a quick fix.

  • 1/2 lb cooked sausage or chicken
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1 or 1/2 diced onion
  • 1 crushed clove of garlic
  • 1 cup cheese – I used fresh mozzarella, but cheddar is good too
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/2 cup yogurt
  • salt and pepper

Mix it all together and bake it at 350 until it’s bubbly.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Adobo

  1. Looks really good. I have only just started making cream soups. Oh boy they sure are better than anything you can get out of a can. Have you ever tried freezing creamed soups?

    • I have frozen cream soups, but only in single servings and I’ve never kept them frozen for longer than a month. I have heard they will stay good for about three months, but I haven’t tried it yet. Have you tried freezing them?

  2. So how did the adobo turn out? My husband is a beast for that type of dish – we call it adovada but I think it’s very similar.

    • The adobo was really good! It wasn’t as spicy as I typically like, but the flavor was awesome. I ended up adding chicken stock, beans, jalepeno and a little more tomato sauce to make a soup. The soup was perfect with a bit of cheese and avocado.
      Adovada does look really similar. I bet it’s delicious.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 226 other followers

